CSTA San Diego is the local chapter of the international Computer Science Teachers Association (CSTA). The CSTA is part of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). ACM is the oldest and largest computer-based organization in the world. If you do anything related to computing, the ACM is probably involved in your life in some significant way.

On June 3, 2009, CSTA approved the formation of the CSTA - San Diego Chapter in partnership with the San Diego Supercomputer Center (SDSC) Education K-12 program. The first executive members of the CSTA - SD Board were Joe Pistone, Pat Giovengo, Jeff Sale and Ange Mason of the San Diego Supercomputer Center Education Department, Caro Willing. The Director of Education for SDSC at that time was Dr. Diane Baxter, who helped guide the board in its initial stages. 

In 2010, CSTA San Diego formed a partnership with the San Diego Supercomputer Center Education Program to implement a National Science Foundation (NSF) grant to pilot AP Computer Science Principles course at any high school throughout San Diego County. In 2015, that partnership expanded to include UCSD’s CREATE program.

If you would like to participate in CSTA San Diego meetings and activities, please fill out this contact form here.

Basic membership for the national CSTA is free for individuals, but we strongly encourage our members to join CSTA as CSTA+ members as this provides all of the basic benefits + access to valuable resources. Please click on the CSTA+ Benefits page link for further information about these additional benefits. 

The Purpose of the San Diego CSTA Chapter is to

  • Build a strong community of computer science educators who share their knowledge
  • Provide teachers with opportunities for high-quality professional development
  • Advocate at all levels for a comprehensive computer science curricula
  • Support projects that communicate the excitement of computer science to students and
  • Improve their understanding of the opportunities it provides
  • Collect and disseminating research about computer science education
  • Provide policy recommendations to support computer science in the high school curriculum
  • Raise awareness that computer science educators are highly qualified professionals with skills that enrich the educational experience of their students

CSTA San Diego Chapter Board

The San Diego Chapter of the CSTA is committed to serving our members and Computer Science Education. Many thanks to all our members who work to make Computer Science a real opportunity for all of our county students. The next general membership meeting will be announced through our website and newsletter.

Art Lopez


Past President

Art Lopez, Sweetwater High School


Corri-Anne Burgess, Kearny High School

Higher Education Representative

Tasha Frankie, San Diego Mesa College

High School Representative

Daniel Pearson, Castle Park High School


High School Representative 

Trevor Neeb, Chula Vista High School


Middle School Representative 

Tara Taylor, Eastlake Middle School

Elementary School Representative

Jenny Chien, Vista Unified School District

At-Large Representative

Mark Lantsberger, San Diego County of Education


UC San Diego Non-Voting Board Members


Associate Director, CREATE

Susan Yonezawa

Professor, Education Studies

Beth Simon

Program Manager, CREATE

Minh Mai

Admin. Assistant, CREATE

Laura Santos


Web Master, CREATE

Darren De Leon